June 2014

June 2014

“Ua ao Hawaiʻi ke ʻōlino nei mālamalama” (2774): Hawaiʻi is enlightened, for the brightness of day is here.
~ ʻŌlelo Noʻeau

Last month, Hawaiʻi hosted the World indigenous Peoples Conference on Education (WiPC:E). Our own Lui Hokoana, the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, was the co-chair for the event. He worked on the planning and implementation of the conference, which featured more than 3,000 participants.

I was lucky enough to be a part of the opening ceremony festivities, where I experienced many “chicken-skin” moments, from the Kaliʻi ceremony at San Souci Beach to the ʻAwa Ceremony at the Waikīkī Shell. I was proud to represent UH West Oʻahu, which serves the highest percentage of Native Hawaiians at UH’s four-year campuses. This campus is crucial to the UH System’s mission to serve the indigenous people of Hawaiʻi. Nearly a third of our full-time students (29 percent in Fall 2013) are Native Hawaiian, and our programs and services reflect that statistic. Scholarships, including the Native Hawaiian Tuition Waiver and Second Century Scholars Program, provide opportunities for access to students of Native Hawaiian ancestry.

Kaliʻi ceremony
Kaliʻi ceremony
Kaliʻi ceremony at San Souci Beach

Rockne Freitas and Lui Hokoana
With Dr. Lui Hokoana

ʻAwa Ceremony
ʻAwa Ceremony
ʻAwa Ceremony at the Waikīkī Shell

Congratulations Graduates!

Congratulations to the Spring 2014 Graduating Class! Special thanks to the commencement’s keynote speaker, U.S. Congresswoman Colleen Hanabusa, and State Senators Michelle Kidani, Will Espero, Mike Gabbard, and Suzanne Chun Oakland; State Representatives Ty Cullen and Henry Aquino; City Councilman Ron Menor; and Waianae Neighborhood Board Chair Johnnie May Perry. (The commencement video can be viewed here: http://youtu.be/w-D-oTRP2eQ).

Check out the UHWO Flickr page for photos of the Spring 2014 commencement and other events around our campus.

I had the pleasure of attending the graduation luncheon, which was hosted by Psi Chi: National Honor Society in Psychology banquet.

graduation luncheon
Back row, left to right: Aaron Santos, Landon Van Winkle, Chancellor Freitas, William Miller. Front row: Associate Vice Chancellor Eun Ahn, Ana Liza Scully-Skinner, Kristin Labiano, Soteria Fangupo, and Jordyn Chuck.